Saturday, April 12 at 7:30 pm
Sunday, April 13 at 2:00 pm
Pre-concert talk 45 minutes prior to each concert

Music Director Christopher Zimmerman will conclude his first Masterworks Concert Season with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra with an all-British program, featuring world-renowned violinist CHEE-YUN as guest soloist.

Works on the program include Chacony by Henry Purcell, Wasps Overture by Ralph Vaughan Williams, the first movement of Symphony No. 1 by William Walton, and Benjamin Britten's Violin Concerto.

There are a few unusual twists to this program, besides the all-British repertoire. The final piece on the concert, the first movement of William Walton's Symphony No. 1, will be a sneak preview of the first concert of the 2014-15 concert season, when this sweeping and dramatic work will be performed in its entirety.

Another unusual aspect is the violin concerto by Benjamin Britten - it is a terrific piece but is not performed very often. This powerful work will be a riveting experience for the listener and a perfect showcase for guest violinist CHEE-YUN.

CHEE-YUN, who came to the United States when she was 17 years old and has become a world-famous soloist, has won nearly every competition prize that exists, including the international Young Concert Artists competition and the Avery Fisher Career Grant. She has performed with the world's leading orchestras, including the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, the London Philharmonic, and the Toronto, Houston, Seattle, Pittsburgh and National symphony orchestras. You can read more about her on her website.

Celebrate the arrival of spring at last at the SEASON FINALE CONCERT of the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra - order your tickets online today and enjoy the convenience of choosing your own seats and printing out your ticket!


Violinist CHEE-YUN to make special appearance at Urban Overture

Wednesday, April 9 at 5:30 pm
RADISSON HOTEL, downtown Fargo
Free to adults age 21-39 with ID

The URBAN OVERTURE group for young adults will end its season with a SPECIAL EVENT at the Radisson Hotel in downtown Fargo. Members of the Chamber's Young Professionals Network will be joining UO members to hear a special, informal solo performance and chat by violinist CHEE-YUN, who is flying into Fargo a day early specifically for this event.

The event begins with an informal social at 5:30 featuring wine tasting by Bernie's Wines & Liquor and hors d'oeuvres by Radisson Fargo. Beginning at 6:00, Music Director Chris Zimmerman and Concertmaster Benjamin Sung will introduce CHEE-YUN, who will perform short violin solos and chat about her upcoming performance as our symphony soloist.

Membership to Urban Overture is free - just email to join!


Sunday March 9 at 2:00 pm
First Presbyterian Church, Fargo

Across the pond and across musical styles, this concert featured select string players of the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra saluting the London roots of new Music Director Christopher Zimmerman with works by G.F. Handel, William Walton, Gerald Finzi, The Who, Led Zeppelin, Sting, and the Rolling Stones.

UPDATE - this was such a great performance, and what a full house! More than 400 people attended, filling every corner of the church (after this photo was taken, the balcony filled up too). Executive Director Linda Boyd noted, while on stage at the beginning of the concert to welcome the audience, that "People always say that chamber music doesn't attract large audiences of all ages. Well, as I look out and see so many young people, students, and long-time patrons alike, that's certainly not the case today. In fact to prove it, I'm going to take a picture of y'all - SMILE!"